It's always DNS!

Tales from the week

Table of Contents

Tech Trivia!

Question: A small piece of data sent from a website and stored on a browser has which name?

*See the bottom of the newsletter for the answer

Updates!

Crosswalk in long-exposure

There is not much to report this week, honestly. I’ve been so consumed with the business start-up that there hasn’t been much else going on in my life this week.

The website is coming along nicely. I can’t wait for you all to see it! I’m trying my hand at breaking into WordPress so it’s been a major learning curve coming from doing websites on Squarespace. It’ll be much more beneficial in the long run from a web design perspective though.

Legalities and financials are my other biggest learning curves throughout this whole process. I have a meeting with a CPA in a couple of weeks to help nail down all the odds and ends so I don’t go to jail 😂

It’s a lot of work, but if you ever think about starting a legitimate business, I highly recommend it! If you let me know, I’d be glad to help out and share my experience in detail and provide some resources.

As always, I hope you all have an amazing weekend!!!

Until next time ✌🏽

For Those Who Want To Get Into IT

The CompTIA A+ was the first “Real” certification I ever achieved when I started in IT. It focuses on computer repair and breaks down all the pieces and parts of a computer, as well as their functions. If you’re looking to break into IT, the A+ is a great way to start!

For Those Who Just Got Into IT

So, you’ve landed your first IT job. Congratulations!!! Now what??? Here’s a basic little guide on some things to consider.

For The Experts

“It’s Always DNS!” 😅 While creating my website for the new business, I’ve gone around and around with DNS. This is where one of those “when am I ever realistically going to use this?” thoughts come back to bite you in the butt.

For those who don’t know, DNS with websites is like people and cell phones. The internet works off of IP addresses but humans much prefer words or phrases. DNS takes a website’s IP address and maps it to a name that we can all remember.

Think of it like this, in your phone, you have a list of contacts. How many of those contacts can you match the number to the person? Most people know the person they’re trying to reach and don’t memorize the actual number.

DNS works the same way. Instead of typing in something like 192.0.0.88, you can just type in google.com. I’ve linked some articles on some of the parts of DNS that I’ve skinned my knee on while trying to figure out websites and web hosting.

ICYMI: Articles posted this week

Custom Phone Wallpaper of the Week!

Trivia Answer: Cookie

Join the conversation

or to participate.